Letting Go Of The Foster Dog and The Call

Leave a comment

December 6, 2016 by The Dog Rules

I trust that most of my readers realized that I was telling Drift’s recovery in the past tense. (If my writing didn’t make that clear please let me know. I’m still learning this blogging thing!)

Drift was my constant companion for about 5 months. I’d gotten used to taking him nearly everywhere with me. I loved introducing him to new things and people! He loved to be included. For me, this was the beginning of the sort of relationship I had wanted to give to Sweep. Unfortunately my work life had prevented us both from having that opportunity.

I’m putting on my Madam Zora Mind-Reading Hat and imagining you asking me why didn’t I adopt Drift?

There is a feeling you get when you know that a dog is the right dog for you. As much as I cared for Drift, enjoyed his silly antics, wanted the very best for him, he was not the right dog for me and my family. There wasn’t that “click”. That moment when I was with him and had that special feeling that he was intended to be my dog. I was very sad to not have him regularly in my life and I am enormously grateful that his new parents have invited me to visit him. I haven’t done so yet because I wanted Drift to understand that he has his own family now. He suffered terrible separation anxiety every weekend when I left him at the Shelter so that prospective adopters could meet him. He had become accustomed to me “rescuing” him after 3 days. I wanted him to have the chance to bond with his new forever family. I was concerned that, if I were to fulfill my desire to visit him, he would think I had come to take him home – like he did when at the Shelter.

For the three months following Drift’s adoption I continued to do my regular Shelter dog walks. It was the only “dog fix” available to me outside that of taking care of a neighbour’s delightful pup on days when they would otherwise have to leave him home alone. This still left an empty space in my life.

In October, the day after my birthday, I received “The Call” from the Shelter where I regularly volunteer. They had just received a mother dog with her 10 puppies from a northern shelter. The mother was a young dog herself. Too young to have been a mom! The puppies were ready to go into foster and the mom was up for adoption. The question for me was “Are you able to foster some puppies?” Absolutely YES! And only 2 because I only have two hands and no sweet Sweep to help me potty train little pups.

I arrived at the Shelter before any of the other potential fosters. I was able to meet Momma Dog. She was a very sweet Border Collie mix. I liked her and seriously thought about adopting her except that she came from a reserve and there was no way to test her prey-drive for cats. I had to know that my Mister (the Golden Retriever Cat) would not be living with a cat-predatory dog so I went to check out the puppies. I like to think I got the pick of the litter.

At the end of the day I brought home little Billy and Dani (a female). One of them was apparently shy and the other decidedly more brave.

New Fosters: Billy and Dani

Billy and Dani
about 7 weeks old

And so began a new adventure…

Leave a Reply

The Dog Rules

The Dog Rules

Once the proud guardian of a rather cheeky Border Collie/Aussie Cattle Dog mix, may she forever rest in peace, my favourite activities were those things that included my canine friend. I spend my spare time volunteering at the local animal shelter as a dog walker/trainer. When my next furever friend comes along you'll be able to read all about it @ TheDogRules.wordpress.com

View Full Profile →

Resources

Blog Stats

  • 2,692 hits
Blogging U.
The Science Dog

By Linda P. Case

Work less, Live More

Technology Solutions to Do More, Faster, and Better

Weeds an All

Slugs and Snails, Successes and Fails. That's what my garden is made of.

Travel Taste Create

Join me as I explore, sample new food & drink, and celebrate creativity.

Poor Robert's (Wine) Almanac

Fun Stuff and Facts about Wine

Tippy Tales

Adventures of a rescue dog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

98 Acres in Albany

40 Blocks, Thousands of Stories

YayYay's Kitchen

Feed the body well, nourish the soul, heal the Earth, build community, make peace, wreak joy

Ramblings of a Writer

Living the Path of Life

SirOzzy

Enjoy The Journey

So Far From

Where I Began

Olive These Words

"One of the secrets of life is that all that is really worth the doing is what we do for others." - Lewis Carroll

Mind and Life Matters

Your Life, Your Mind - It Matters!

the biology of belief

THINK beyond your genes...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

