Growing up – Again

1

December 2, 2016 by The Dog Rules

It dawned on me that Drift was going through all the puppy stages even though he was an adult dog. He began to challenge me and, briefly, became nippy with me. When he found that I was having none of his sass he changed his tune.

Some of his behavior concerned me. He had made friends with a couple of neighborhood dogs that we met on walks. Initially, Drift had been polite and playful. Then his behavior changed suddenly. He lunged toward them like a wild thing, growling and appearing anything but friendly. The owners of these dogs kept a good distance from us thereafter. I couldn’t blame them. The most difficult part was that his behavior had become unpredictable – like Jekyll and Hyde.

Fortunately for me, I bumped into behaviour and training consultant Chirag Patel, owner of Domesticated Manners. Dear Chirag spent about 30 minutes with me discussing Drift’s behaviour and making many useful recommendations to manage Drift during the final stages of his recovery.

Drift’s stamina had increased to the point were he needed more exercise than I could give him on-leash. Because he had absolutely no recall, I needed to find a secure area where I could let him burn of some of that excess energy and still catch him if necessary. I took him to an out-of-the-way off-leash park at times when I was fairly certain that there would be no other dogs around. We worked in the small dog enclosure where I could see the approach of other dog walkers. I didn’t want to take the chance of Drift “acting out” on another dog.

He loved galloping around the enclosure chasing his ball. We were fortunate enough to have other dogs use the big dog enclosure. There was a fence section between the two enclosures where Drift could walk up and sniff the other dogs and not get into close contact with them. When Drift displayed his annoying, bossy puppy behavior the other dogs would simply walk away from him and play with each other.

Drift at the Dog Park

 

One thought on “Growing up – Again

  1. tippysmom2 says:

    I hope Drift is doing better. Maybe he just had too much pent up energy. Glad you found a place you could take him to get rid of some of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

The Dog Rules

The Dog Rules

Once the proud guardian of a rather cheeky Border Collie/Aussie Cattle Dog mix, may she forever rest in peace, my favourite activities were those things that included my canine friend. I spend my spare time volunteering at the local animal shelter as a dog walker/trainer. When my next furever friend comes along you'll be able to read all about it @ TheDogRules.wordpress.com

View Full Profile →

Resources

Blog Stats

  • 2,585 hits
Blogging U.
The Science Dog

By Linda P. Case

Work less, Live More

Technology Solutions to Do More, Faster, and Better

Weeds an All

Slugs and Snails, Successes and Fails. That's what my garden is made of.

Travel Taste Create

Join me as I explore, sample new food & drink, and celebrate creativity.

Poor Robert's (Wine) Almanac

Fun Stuff and Facts about Wine

Tippy Tales

Adventures of a rescue dog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

98 Acres in Albany

40 Blocks, Thousands of Stories

YayYay's Kitchen

Feed the body well, nourish the soul, heal the Earth, build community, make peace, wreak joy

Ramblings of a Writer

Living the Path of Life

SirOzzy

Enjoy The Journey

So Far From

Where I Began

Olive These Words

"One of the secrets of life is that all that is really worth the doing is what we do for others." - Lewis Carroll

Mind and Life Matters

Your Life, Your Mind - It Matters!

the biology of belief

THINK beyond your genes...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

