Dogs Don’t Need Blogs

10

January 26, 2016 by The Dog Rules

When you have a dog in your life the first thing you do every morning is take your dog outside. There is no time to make coffee. Nor do you have time to look at your computer or even grab your smartphone if your dog is in a hurry. In fact, you count yourself lucky if you can quickly step into your shoes and grab a jacket as the dog dances out ahead of you. The door swings firmly shut as you fumble in your pocket for house keys. Finding them, you feel great relief that you haven’t just locked yourself out. (For me that is way more satisfying than discovering I have my phone and no keys.) By this time your canine friend has already watered the neighbor’s garden and is waiting eagerly for you to catch up. Or, if he’s like my neighbor’s dog, he is already heading out of sight and you need to run after him.

Dogs don’t need blogs, or computers, or smartphones. Going out with you is their compulsion. The adventure! The smells! The games! The friends they’ll meet and make! Do they feign their urgency to get us outside with them? Perhaps they realize that they get more attention if the smartphone is left on the counter?

When their walk is over you grab a mug of coffee and head to your computer while looking through your phone to see if you missed a call or message. A lot of your life is wrapped up in these addictive devices. Yes, they certainly have made life easier and more complex. There are so many ways that these devices assist us when they are working properly. We’re truly dependent upon them now. Even a short physical break from them can be unsettling. Most of us don’t want to be kept away from them at all. The very thought brings a rising sense of panic. So we focus on our devices that absorb our attention and take us off to another world where dogs can’t go.

And you're off to blog again I suppose...

And you’re off to blog again I suppose…

And dogs flop on the floor with a big sigh; resigned to being ignored until they can convince us to take them outside again.

This is in response to The Daily Prompt | Life After Blogs β€” β€œYour life without a computer: what does it look like?”

10 thoughts on “Dogs Don’t Need Blogs

  1. theturtle says:

    Loved this !
    Do you mind if I reblog it ?
    Turtle Hugs πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. jeanette says:

    Oh my gosh, this is me every morning! And my yorkie and he certainly doesn’t need a blog. Fun take on the prompt.

    Like

  3. I feel this way too… about my daughter. I spend too much time with my devices and not enough with my living, breathing child. I am struggling to change this and this was another good wake up call.

    Like

  4. theturtle says:

    Reblogged this on TheTurtleWay and commented:
    WordPress’s Daily Prompt today “Life After Blogs” : “your life without a computer – what does it look like ? ” prompted our friend from thedogrules to write this wonderful post.
    Hope you’ll like it as much as I did πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That’s a happy looking dog 😊

    Like

  6. tippysmom2 says:

    Well put. I have told Tippy numerous times that she should know how much I love her because she gets to go out before I get my morning coffee. πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Love your post. While trying to read our chihuahua Milo was sitting up under my chin trying to get my attention or should l say trying to get me off this device πŸ˜„it took me 10 minutes just to read your post. I better take her outside:) Have a great day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Dog Rules

The Dog Rules

Once the proud guardian of a rather cheeky Border Collie/Aussie Cattle Dog mix, may she forever rest in peace, my favourite activities were those things that included my canine friend. I spend my spare time volunteering at the local animal shelter as a dog walker/trainer. When my next furever friend comes along you'll be able to read all about it @ TheDogRules.wordpress.com

View Full Profile →

Resources

Blog Stats

  • 2,585 hits
Blogging U.
The Science Dog

By Linda P. Case

Work less, Live More

Technology Solutions to Do More, Faster, and Better

Weeds an All

Slugs and Snails, Successes and Fails. That's what my garden is made of.

Travel Taste Create

Join me as I explore, sample new food & drink, and celebrate creativity.

Poor Robert's (Wine) Almanac

Fun Stuff and Facts about Wine

Tippy Tales

Adventures of a rescue dog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

98 Acres in Albany

40 Blocks, Thousands of Stories

YayYay's Kitchen

Feed the body well, nourish the soul, heal the Earth, build community, make peace, wreak joy

Ramblings of a Writer

Living the Path of Life

SirOzzy

Enjoy The Journey

So Far From

Where I Began

Olive These Words

"One of the secrets of life is that all that is really worth the doing is what we do for others." - Lewis Carroll

Mind and Life Matters

Your Life, Your Mind - It Matters!

the biology of belief

THINK beyond your genes...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

