Distracted & Sidetracked by Day Five: Love Your Theme

2

August 8, 2015 by The Dog Rules

Yes, I have a new theme. It is an unintentional happenstance. Whilst plodding through the myriad options and trying them on I accidentally slipped up and this theme is what  I now have. I couldn’t find my original theme. Sigh.

I feel as though I have just wasted valuable time getting lost in the finicky task of “choosing a new theme” for my blog. The feeling is very similar to being told that the event to which you’ve been invited now suddenly requires you to come up with a brand new outfit. Gosh there are so much other things involved in preparation for the event and NOW I have to go shopping too? So I’m metaphorically in that little cubicle with loads of things to try on and in the back of my head is that nagging little voice reminding me of the other things I need to get done. In that moment none of the styles are appealing and none of the colours are to my liking. The petulant child in me doesn’t want to go to the party in these stupid new clothes. They might look pretty but they don’t have useful things, like pockets.

Alrighty then. Stepping back into my purpose for writing. The dog has chewed through a section of his harness and that piece of equipment is gone. I have this other harness, not quite as familiar to put on as the original and without the same features. It fits the dog well enough to safely take him out without losing him. I’m a bit concerned that it might chafe in a few places and will keep a watch on that until I have the opportunity to replace it.

Is the colour of the harness going to affect the way I can work with or train the dog? As long as I can clearly communicate with the dog, does it matter whether or not that communication is verbal, whistles or hand signals? Dog is dancing; eager to run the Agility Course! Will our successful run matter what pattern the course is or the colour of the equipment?

2 thoughts on “Distracted & Sidetracked by Day Five: Love Your Theme

  1. You know, this theme really worked out nicely, though. I can relate to your frustration, but what you have now is very eye-catching. I love what you’ve done with it. The Header photo with the three dogs is precious. And by the way, I also love you’re tag line, “Life with Six Feet.” It made me laugh out loud it’s so spot on. Thanks for sharing, and best of luck with the pup. Hang in there! He’ll outgrow the “Pac Man” phase before you know it, and you can have nice things again. 😉

    Like

    • Thank you Audrey. I will keep on with this theme for the time being. BTW my “pup” is the grizzled old face in the middle of the Header photo. These days hardly anyone believes that she was once my fearful girl 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

The Dog Rules

The Dog Rules

Once the proud guardian of a rather cheeky Border Collie/Aussie Cattle Dog mix, may she forever rest in peace, my favourite activities were those things that included my canine friend. Now I have a new canine buddy in my life. He's also a Border Collie and sassy like my girl was. We're in the middle of an adventure; teaching him how to be a good canine citizen I spend my spare time volunteering at the local animal shelter as a dog walker/trainer. You can read all about it @ TheDogRules.wordpress.com

View Full Profile →

Resources

Blog Stats

  • 2,711 hits
Blogging U.
The Science Dog

By Linda P. Case

Work less, Live More

Technology Solutions to Do More, Faster, and Better

Weeds an All

Slugs and Snails, Successes and Fails. That's what my garden is made of.

Travel Taste Create

Join me as I explore, sample new food & drink, and celebrate creativity.

Poor Robert's (Wine) Almanac

Fun Stuff and Facts about Wine

Tippy Tales

Adventures of a rescue dog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

98 Acres in Albany

40 Blocks, Thousands of Stories

YayYay's Kitchen

Feed the body well, nourish the soul, heal the Earth, build community, make peace, wreak joy

Ramblings of a Writer

Living the Path of Life

SirOzzy

Enjoy The Journey

So Far From

Where I Began

Olive These Words

"One of the secrets of life is that all that is really worth the doing is what we do for others." - Lewis Carroll

Mind and Life Matters

Your Life, Your Mind - It Matters!

the biology of belief

THINK beyond your genes...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

