Hello World – Restart….

1

August 3, 2015 by The Dog Rules

When I first thought to chronicle my life with Dog, I thought it would be an entirely easy thing to do. I have had dogs in my life for as long as I could remember and, after all, what does it take to chronicle life’s adventures with a dog? It appeared to be a fairly straight-forward thing to do. Hopefully some of my observations will help other folks with their dogs.

As long as I can remember I have had animals in my life. I learned to walk by hanging on to a sturdy bull dog at the cottage. I’m certain my poor mother had heart failure every time I spotted this neighbour’s dog and headed his way. He had torn ears and a blind eye from unpleasant encounters with other dogs. Clearly a frightening apparition for any parent! This sweet soul graciously supported a toddler and kept me safe from everything. He was my first friend. How could I not become enamoured of dogs?

These days I volunteer at the local shelter where I walk dogs that have either been surrendered or picked up as strays. They all have their own stories to tell. Some are complete sweethearts, there because their guardians have passed and they are caught in-between. Some are strays who have not been claimed and some are surrendered for a variety of reasons. Each of them has had something to share with me so that I can better understand them. I appreciate each opportunity to learn! I hope that other people will come to learn that pets need advocates and especially in a society that overlooks the benefits they offer us all.

 

 

One thought on “Hello World – Restart….

  1. koolitzable says:

    Show us some more blogs about your journey with your dogs 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Dog Rules

The Dog Rules

Once the proud guardian of a rather cheeky Border Collie/Aussie Cattle Dog mix, may she forever rest in peace, my favourite activities were those things that included my canine friend. I spend my spare time volunteering at the local animal shelter as a dog walker/trainer. When my next furever friend comes along you'll be able to read all about it @ TheDogRules.wordpress.com

View Full Profile →

Resources

Blog Stats

  • 2,652 hits
Blogging U.
The Science Dog

By Linda P. Case

Work less, Live More

Technology Solutions to Do More, Faster, and Better

Weeds an All

Slugs and Snails, Successes and Fails. That's what my garden is made of.

Travel Taste Create

Join me as I explore, sample new food & drink, and celebrate creativity.

Poor Robert's (Wine) Almanac

Fun Stuff and Facts about Wine

Tippy Tales

Adventures of a rescue dog

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

98 Acres in Albany

40 Blocks, Thousands of Stories

YayYay's Kitchen

Feed the body well, nourish the soul, heal the Earth, build community, make peace, wreak joy

Ramblings of a Writer

Living the Path of Life

SirOzzy

Enjoy The Journey

So Far From

Where I Began

Olive These Words

"One of the secrets of life is that all that is really worth the doing is what we do for others." - Lewis Carroll

Mind and Life Matters

Your Life, Your Mind - It Matters!

the biology of belief

THINK beyond your genes...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

